The Storm before the Calm

On the eve of our next adventure I stood in the middle of our bedroom surrounded by clothes, luggage, personal grooming items, passports and out came a big sigh, turning on my heel I walked out the door. I wish I could say I was headed for a pedicure or something relaxing like that but as I slipped my unpedicured feet into my shoes I was mentally counting off the number of errands I had to run in order to prepare for our journey. Bank, drug store, bank again because I probably forgot something the first time, post office, etc.

Getting a family of four ready for a vacation is work. To me it always feels a bit like a tornado, everything is whirling around me and I’m holding on for dear life because I know it’s eventually going to come to an end and my feet will land on the ground again, preferably on white sandy beach ground.

It doesn’t end when all the luggage is packed and the kids are buckled in the car because even though I have well behaved kids, super biased here, airports makeĀ children crazy. Maybe it’s the energy of the place, people’s excitement to see their loved ones, families heading out to a sunny destination for a well deserved break but children at the airport are like a pack of puppies. They want to see everything, sniff everything, pee all the time, climb up things, down things, run, run, run.

So here’s my suggestion to those of you travelling without kids. STEER CLEAR. Seriously. Don’t sit by the playground if you want to zone out on your handheld device or read a book, do not use the walking people mover thing whatever they are called they are a kid magnet and certainly do not expect children to not bump into you and your luggage while waiting in line for customs, actually you should probably expect to be whacked with one of those fabric retractable line formation things, whatever they are called. I’m sorry, truly I am.

Here’s the secret. I’m letting them run wild, as wild as possible because shortly they are about to be confined in a small space and expected to sit in one seat for a long, long time because anything longer than 5 minutes is really, really long for a toddler. It’s totally unnatural to their little bodies and the more pent up energy they have, well, you can guess.

I read awhile back about a couple who handed out a gift package to all the passengers on the plane, kinda of pre-apology to their fellow passengers for having to travel on the same plane as their infant. Well, you won’t be getting anything from me and here’s why; when I buckle myself into the airplane seat I’m still trying to figure out whether I’ve packed everybody’s toothbrush and trying to come to terms with the fact I’ve probably forgotten to turn off some lights at home while simultaneously whacking a finger out of one of my kid’s noses.

So feel free to shoot me a dirty look, request to have your seat moved further away, I would if I were you, but please, please, please remember families need vacations, preferably at white sandy beach destinations, too.

One thought on “The Storm before the Calm

  1. Not to mention that we were all children once too… and hopefully other people provided our parents with the courtesy that you are requesting.

    Nicely written post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

