International Women’s Day 2015

There’s someone I’d like to introduce you to. Maybe you know her maybe you don’t. We’ve never met I simply follow her blog and comings and goings on Facebook. I don’t think I’ve ever even commented on her stories publicly. I find her inspiring, brave, courageous, honest, and certainly a woman blazing her own trail.

Shannon O’Donnell.

Creative traveller behind A Little Adrift: the world’s too big to tell just one story. Shannon focuses on volunteer travel with meaning not just the fluff voluntourism but the real, honest to god volunteering that makes a difference. She’s written a book ‘The Volunteer Traveler’s Handbook’ which I have yet to read but when I’m ready to jump back into volunteering on my travels it’s a good bet I’ll be picking it up.

Admiringly, she supports her travel through consulting, writing and photography and her website remains ad free which makes her site more accessible for the reader and a much-needed break from distracting ads. Thank you.

Why am I writing about Shannon? Well, on this International Women’s Day of 2015 I felt moved to write about a woman of integrity who inspires me in my travels, someone who when I’m reading her words there never feels like a hidden agenda. I’ve always been a big believer of supporting woman in business and adventure. I’ve also traveled solo in this magnificently big uncertain world and I know the ups and downs, feeling a little out-of-place, feeling like a seasoned traveler and then doing something completely naive. Lessons learned again and again.

I also believe as women we need to lift each other up and celebrate our trailblazers, acknowledge the challenging paths they have walked, are walking and greet them with a hug along the way.

I encourage you to pop over to her website, read a few of her stories and be open to inspiration she’s doing what some of us have only dreamed about – how amazing is that!!!!

Happy International Women’s Day 2015 to you all much love from Araya Adventures.

2 thoughts on “International Women’s Day 2015

  1. Thank you so much for this profile and for choosing to honor me on such a special day. It makes the whole world feel smaller to know that others are reading and enjoying the stories I’ve shared and the types of travels I’ve tried to highlight as possible. I hope our paths cross one day for a coffee and a hug. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

